In the pits

Unfortunately my hopes of exploring Accra were dashed by dysentery and now I find myself back in Nsawkaw, despite having supposedly left here for the last time a week ago. The only interesting activity I have undertaken here was a trip to a mine at Ahafo which is 3 hours south of here to collect sample. It consisted of 20 minutes looking at the mine and getting samples and then an hour and a half trying to get the samples out through the security gate with numerous forms etc. I suppose all part and parcel of an operating gold mine. Tomorrow I have secured a trip to Mole national park (Mo-lay) which has been like the holy grail of tourist attractions in Ghana while I’ve been here, tantalisingly close to Nsawkaw but entirely unfeasible to reach. Seeing as I have really run out of things to do, I managed to plead my case and am hiring a pick-up and driver to take me there for two days. Apparently the chance of seeing elephants is high (fingers crossed).

~ by goldwhine on 6 September, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
